Life away from home: One year and counting!


This time a year ago, I was on a plane headed for America. I had never been here before and I had no clue what was ahead of me. However, I’m so proud of all the things I have been able to accomplish through the help of God in this short period of time. After my first semester, I became a member of the Honors Institute and few months later, i became a member of the distinguished society which i love so much Phi Theta Kappa. I’m proud to be a member of the Alpha Beta Beta Family, and so honored to have recently been installed as one of the 2013 – 2014 officers (I’ll cherish my blue band and medal forever! 🙂 ). 
In this period of time, I’ve been able to have experiences which i’ll never forget. For example, attending Florida International Leadership Conference( FILC 2013) and meeting student leaders who are from several different countries. And attending the Phi Theta Kappa International convention; being in the same place with hundreds of the brightest community college students in America and some other countries changes you in a way that cant be explained. 
Through Phi Theta Kappa, I’ve been able to be active with the SGA. I’ve also had the opportunity to have my article published in several school publications, and very soon the Florida Regional publication.
Being away from where i grew up in brings me new experiences every now and then, even small things like trying a new food, or visiting a new place. 
I’m so grateful to my parents and my brother for giving so much for me to have this opportunity. I love you!
I’m also grateful to my Aunt,  for trying her best to make me feel as comfortable as I can away from home.
 I’m thankful for the wonderful friends i’ve made and for my new extended family . I’m so grateful to God for giving me the opportunity to be part of this wonderful group of people.
Right now, I have a perfect GPA, and i’m working towards transferring in the Spring. I promise not to let all of you down.
Lastly, I’m thankful to all my blog followers and readers. Even though i dont know you guys personally, i feel so close to you guys. Every time i’m missing home, I come here and read all the comments you guys leave on my posts and it just makes me feel a lot better. Thank you for reading and commenting on my posts even when it is so boring!! 🙂
About prettywitgla33es

Hi! I'm a college student currently living in Pennsylvania. I'm young, and taking life one step at a time, learning new things, trying new things, and striving to become a better person every day. Hope you like my post. Make sure to click the "like" and "follow" buttons! Love, **xx Prettywitgla33es

2 responses to “Life away from home: One year and counting!

  1. Tears of joy as I read how you have bloomed and will continue to grow. I’m sure your family is so proud of you and made it your while. I pray that God will continue to shower you with graces. Carry on Ms. Pretty and I’m sure you will not let yourself down. Go, girl, Go!

Hey! Dont Just Go, write something!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 230 other followers

Award

Shine on Award

Most Influential blog of the year

Most Influential Blog of the Year Award

